My family ate the last Alaskan crab.

Are we witnessing the end of cold water habitats?

Sexy Hermit
3 min readOct 17, 2022
google images “king crab”

In the news of more horrifying than people realize, billions, of Alaskan crabs have gone “missing.”

I just introduced my family to this old favorite of mine on my September birthday this year. Neither of them had had crab before. I tried something different and grilled them. I dried it out a bit but my family did still enjoy it.

Now I'm wondering if this year was the last year anyone will eat Alaskan crab.

The harvest of Alaskan snow has been canceled for the first time ever.

The harvest of the Bristol Bay red king crab has been canceled for the second year in a row.

Officials are calling it “overfishing” so they have the authority to end the fisherman’s chase but most know the real cause.

It’s climate change pure and simple.

The waters of the Alaskan north are now just too warm for the cold-loving crustaceans.

--

--